An Update

An Update About Weathered

I have good news and I have bad news. I’ve been awfully quiet since the late last year for good reasons. I got tired of complaining about the pending doom a decided to do something about it. I restarted my Engineering consultancy and will focus on green engineering” solutions.

I’m mostly a water nerd” and I like to design sustainable stormwater runoff systems. Capturing, detaining, cleaning, and re-injecting stormwater into groundwater is what I love to do. It’s what I feel called to do in this world, for all of us and Mother Earth.

This reawakening on my Engineering side has led to an interesting project I’m working on at the Startup I’m at. I’ve managed to combine my skills as a machine learning expert and civil engineer to work on building a prototype for a governmental agency. I can’t divulge any information about this project at this time but this is something that will have a major impact for the science community and it’s related to water.

This is why weathered.pub has been silent lately, I’ve been busy.

That’s the good news. The bad news is that this website is dirty. I’ve run an analysis here that’s showing weathered.pub is rated as a D’. I host a Ghost powered publication on an AWS region that’s known not to be very environmentally friendly. For an environmentally focused site like this one, that’s unacceptable.

I checked out Substack.com and its rate a D’. Medium.com on the other hand is running on servers that give it a B’ rating. Some of their servers run on sustainable sourced energy and that’s a good thing. Granted I could find a sustainably sourced AWS region but I’m tired of hosting this myself and paying the extra costs.

The bad news is that I’ve decided to shut down this instance here and migrate back to Medium. In essence that’s not bad news at all, it’ll be more cost effective for everyone. On Medium you get access to thousands of great writers for one low price of $50/year and I can attract more writers whose articles will get direct payment. I think it’s a win-win for all.

What does that mean for you? Nothing, all articles will be migrated to medium.com/weathered and I’ll point the domain to Medium. All paying members will have their subscriptions cancelled. I’m not exactly sure if there’s an automatic refund but reach out to me privately if you don’t get a refund and I’ll PayPal you a pro-rated amount.

So this isn’t goodbye, just a change in mid-flight. Thanks for coming along with me on this experiment and see you all on the flip side!!!



Date
May 2, 2024