A Review of my COST Call Option Trade

This is a trade review of my Costco COST call option trade.

  1. Why was I interested in COST? Because earnings was coming and I wanted to catch a price run up.
  2. Which way was COST trading? It was in a long upward trend.
  3. Was COST making an all-time high? Yes.
  4. When did you enter the trade and at what cost? I entered the trade on 3/5/2024. I bought 10 June 21, 2024 COST Calls for an average price of $7.53. Total cost was $7,545
  5. What was COST trading at the time of entry? It was trading around $764.

That was my entry. Now what about the exit? Why did I exit and not hold through earnings?

  1. Stocks that are trading at all-time high levels are just one earnings call away from sell off, that’s what happened to COST.
  2. I sold 5 contracts at market open for $12.41, which banked me $6,201. That was a little less than my initial risk.
  3. I sold the remain 5 contracts just before 3PM for $13.00. That yielded me $6,496.

Total profit = $12,697 on a $7,545 risk, roughly 1.68:1 reward to risk ratio.

Total holding time 2 days.

The question remains, was this a flawless trade or a lucky trade? Hard to tell because I’m still learning the options market but I used my chart and tape reading skills to figure out when to sell and followed my rules of not holding through earnings.

Costco Price ChartCostco Price Chart



Date
March 9, 2024